Pushing Boundaries

Let’s just ignore the fact that I haven’t blogged in ages. Deal?

Deal.

Moving on…

I’ve been trying to push the boundaries of my comfort zones in different aspects of my life. With any task, I can usually go only so far and pinball around in my own small space of familiarity. I ricochet off the same ideas over and over. But, how long before I hit TILT?

I’ve always fancied myself a bit of a chameleon. I take bits of what I see and know to help myself evolve. The problem is, I’m not finding my own way. When I recently started a project journal, I decided to stop allowing the lined pages confine me. I’m varying the size of my print, the margins and using words to carve pictures. For every little step across a line, I feel a little more liberated. And also a bit more inspired.

Creativity is something I always envy in others. Whether it’s writing, art, cooking, fashion, anything really. I’m always thinking, I wish I had that ingenuity. Now, I do think that this is not always a learned thing. Some people are just born with that door open. However, I don’t like limits and I do believe that you can be taught, conditioned, to a certain degree.

So this is my current self-improvement project. Pushing my boundaries. Letting my brain forget about common practices and finding what works for me. I’m hoping to pick up some forgotten art projects to give me a push in the right direction. That was actually one of my wants in a previous post. And as an update, numbers 2 through 7 I’m doing well with. I’m still working on 1 and 8.

Even if your goal is to write, exercising your mind in other areas helps you branch out. If I can pick up an old craft project, I can look at it and see how to make it better. I can dig in and clip here, add there. The same goes for my writing. Editing is like pruning the rose bush. Or adding a red stripe to that abstract painting. And the more I push my creativity, the better that final product is going to be.

*Please feel free to share how you boost your creativity in the comments. I’d love to hear your ideas!

2 thoughts on “Pushing Boundaries

  1. Music and television shows relevant to my plots are crucial in igniting emotion that, in turn, boosts the creative process. My current playlist is composed of songs where both the lyrics and score speak to my story; I like to visualize my own music video for each song (you know, since MTV doesn’t play music nowadays) and transfer that to my characters. I also appreciate shows like the X Factor because, as cliche as it may be, I get inspired from watching ordinary people move closer to their dreams. Watching artists in any industry “make it” boosts my creativity because my product must be unique to achieve that for myself.

    1. Paul, I LOVE this! These are great ideas!! Thanks so much!
      And I totally get it…I like watching So You Think You Can Dance, partly for the same reason and partly because I like to hear the choreographer describe what type of storyline they created with the steps they’ve taught the kids.

Leave a Reply

