Chaos Is Not My Thing

I’m feeling flustered. Frustrated.

I like order. Everything has its place. When I need to get things done, I make a list. I check off the list as things are done. This is how I keep my sanity. Checking off each completed item is fuel for my momentum.

I feel like my sanity is dissolving. There are too many things I need to do, that I’ve volunteered to do, or that I simply want to do. Never enough time. I’m spreading myself too thin and things are not getting done. I need to write more. I need to find a job. I need to pay the bills, decorate, clean the house, do the laundry, raise my children, blog more, exercise, fix up my blogs…the list is endless and I add to it daily. Daily.

What comes first? And how can you check something off a list that is never done?

So, I guess now it’s time to pull up my big girl pants and figure out how to solve this. Do I focus on one thing at a time? Do I assign a time limit to each item, so they get sufficient attention? And how do I avoid letting people down in the process?

I feel like I’m sitting in a dinghy in the middle of a turbulent ocean with no motor and one oar. The waves are crashing over me and I’m clinging to a boat that will soon capsize.

I need better schedules. Maybe less idealistic goals. More detailed planning. Setting limits would help.

 Today’s lesson: Don’t wait until you are drowning to look for the lifejacket.

4 thoughts on “Chaos Is Not My Thing

  1. I feel your pain. Between writing, blogging, researching, getting to the gym consistently, reading, networking, a mini renovation project I decided to start – cause I had NOTHING else going on – cleaning out my old teaching ‘crapola,’ and trying to figure out what I want to do to pay the bills, I can’t seem to see anything to the finish line. It’s not a good feeling; in fact, it drives me mad. Unfortunately, I think this type of frustration is an internal problem. We do it to ourselves. I think your lesson summarizes everything perfectly!

  2. I hate feeling overwhelmed. I feel your pain. I try doing one thing at a time for a limited amount of time and then on to the next. It keeps me sane.

Leave a Reply

