Happy Anniversary To Me!

It’s been a whole year since I started this blog and I can’t believe I didn’t post on the actual anniversary! My very first blog entry was on February 13, 2010.

When I started this blog, I was confused, stressed out and trying to figure out what I wanted to do. All I knew was that writing was my goal. As I set out on my journey, I joined Twitter and found an incredible network of writers, parents and friends that helped me learn about writing. So much more than I could ever learn in any book. They showed me that the best way to be a good writer is just to be myself, and the rest can start to fall into place from there.

Looking back on the year, I am trying to access what I’ve accomplished. Persisting with this blog has helped me learn a lot about myself and where my interests lie. I’ve started a second blog, a “mommy blog”, which is still a work in progress. I have signed up for five freelance writing sites where I can submit articles. Three of these I have worked on and two are very recent.

Looking ahead, there is still so much more to do. All of this is a good first few steps, but it still feels like I’m wading through mud. There are bills to pay and time is running out. So, to move forward, it seems I need to get my ass in gear. My life could do well with a bit more discipline and focus.

This time next year, my goal is to have a “paying” writing career. And not just five cents here and there. Substantial pay that can support my family. Whether it’s as a freelance writer, or a writer for a company, whatever I do, I need to be writing. I know that it is truly what my mind and heart agree on. I’ve spent too long ignoring them in the past. After a year of rediscovering them, I can’t turn back now.

6 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary To Me!

Leave a Reply

