I Should Listen To Myself More Often

Me: What should I write?

Me2: I don’t know. Write about writing. That’s the point of this blog.

Me: Yeah, but I’ve been having a hard time thinking of my next entry. I think I have writer’s block.

Me2: Don’t be ridiculous. Just get to the page and let your fingers start typing. It’s what you do whenever you come here.

Me: What if my fingers won’t type anything? What if they have nothing to say?

Me2: Are you listening to yourself?

Me: Ummm….

Me2: You don’t need inspiration. You don’t need motivation. You don’t need a reason to write. Just sit down, stop being a baby and write.

Me: But I don’t know what to write ABOUT. I was thinking about an entry on how important reading is to a writer. I’ve been participating in some hashtags on Twitter with other people reading. It’s great for finding book recommendations. Or maybe the fact that I have writer’s block. I mean, what do other people do when they get it? I’m just not sure where to go with either of them.

Me2: You’re an idiot.

Me: What? There’s nothing wrong with those ideas.

Me2: You just wrote an entry.

Me: I what?

Me2: With all the fuss you made about what to write, you wrote an entry with it. This is your blog. It’s done. And you are still wondering what to write.

Me: …….

Me2: I told you. Let your fingers do the typing.

Me: Oh.

Aaaaaaaand scene.

2 thoughts on “I Should Listen To Myself More Often

Leave a Reply

