I’m a Writer, Damnit

I’ve been hesitating.

I’ve been hesitating and reading about other writers doing the same.  They wonder if they’ve spent enough hours or written enough pages.  They wonder if submitting a manuscript to an agent qualifies them.  Maybe it’s when they have published their first work as a book or magazine article.  How do we know when we are officially considered a “writer”? 

When you are hired for a job, you have a boss and a title.  You can say I’m an accountant.  I’m a mechanic.  I’m a sales clerk.  The definition of your job is usually pretty clear.  However, when you are your own boss, or you work from home with your own individual endeavors, it’s a bit more complicated.  It’s up to you to define yourself.  With writing, who’s to say what qualifies as a writer?  It seems that each and every writer has their own definition. 

Well, I’ve decided.  I’m a writer.  I’m a writer, damnit.  I. AM. A. WRITER.

I have two blogs.  I write articles for Associated Content and I just signed up to writer articles for Factoidz.  Because of Twitter, I have met many other writers, one of which has included me in a collaborative ebook that he is publishing due on Thanksgiving.  On top of that, I have taken on a proofreading project for another writer. 

So, I officially feel like a writer.  Today is the day I am announcing it to the world.  Okay..to my twelve readers of this blog.  But, to me, you are my world.  You are my audience.  And whether you are a million members or twelve, small and strong, I’m glad to have you see my start.  And I hope you’ll stick around for when it gets really good.  I am a writer.  I’m going to call myself a writer and keep telling myself I’m a writer.  It is now my profession.  

All I have to do now is start making money with it. 😉

4 thoughts on “I’m a Writer, Damnit

  1. hi I was luck to discover your theme in wordpress
    your post is exceptional
    I obtain a lot in your website really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really impressive
    where can find it

  2. “I believe that the very purpose of our life is to seek happiness. That is clear. Whether one believes in religion or not, whether one believes in this religion or that religion, we all are seeking something better in life. So, I think, the very motion of our life is towards happiness…”

Leave a Reply

