I Find More of the Dork In Me

So, I spent some time designing a new blog.  That is part of the reason I hadn’t written in a bit.  The other reason is I took a break to take some time to figure out some direction in my writing.  They say write what you know, so what do I know?   

I received some advice from a friend and started to work on getting my thoughts in order.  I have a lot of great ideas for articles, so while I’m getting them on paper, I’m also trying to find the right forum for publication.  I’m currently on the hunt.  

Here’s what I have realized.  I love to research.  This very well could be the dorkiest thing about me.  Even worse than my near OCD organization skills.  I love to use books, magazines and mostly Google to find the information I need.  There is no stopping at one source, especially not the first source.  I read every word, click every link.  Over the years, I’ve developed an “I don’t even believe it if I see it” attitude towards information.  There’s just too much out there. 

I actually hunger for the best sources, digging them out like filling in a donut.  Making sure I get every last drop of knowledge.  There’s a certain sense of accomplishment when I’m done.  I can look at my notes and say “Yes, THIS is good.”  Then taking what I have learned and piecing it together to create one cohesive item.  I take pride in providing accurate information.  It seems it’s something that is becoming more and more rare.  There may be a time where there is too much information, but one thing that will never go out of style, is correct information.  I hope I’m there to be dishing out some of the best.  

I guess I have always known this about myself, but this is the first time I’m really enjoying what I’m researching.  It’s amazing what you can discover about yourself when you love what you are doing.     

Leave a Reply

