So What If I’m Neurotic? It’s Totally Normal!

All last week I was neglecting my laptop for a little thing called vertigo.  A ridiculous illness that seems to visit me two or three times a year since I had my daughter 3 years ago.  For an entire week, I was unable to do my normal daily activities around the house such as cooking, laundry, cleaning, etc.  Any walking at all was a huge effort, but utterly hilarious to onlookers as I walked like I had just downed a bottle of tequila.  Needless to say, the things that I do didn’t get done and chores piled up all over the place.  In addition, my anxiety about it piled up as the days passed.

Today, however, the clouds parted and the dizzy haze was gone.  So, what was the first thing I did?  I made a list.  I love lists.  My mind runs a million thoughts a minute and for me to remember every task at hand is virtually impossible.  I am too easily sidetracked.  Washing the dishes, I see a food container and remember I wanted to clean up the fridge.  Or I’m putting away clothes when I realize I wanted to fix something in one of the kids’ rooms.  I stop at the computer to check my email and end up reading that blog I forgot about.  By the end of the day, the dishes are half washed, the fridge still have leftovers that could walk to the trash on their own and someone is still waiting for my reply to that email from last week.   

When I make a list, I feel like order is restored to a stressful situation.  If I go shopping, I make a list.  Christmas is coming?  Everyone needs a list of what they want.  Different projects to tackle?  Make a list.  Chores to do?  You get the idea.  I feverishly scribbled every little thing that needed to get done.  Vacuum, laundry, wash the dishes, so on and so forth.  My irritation started to subside once I sat down and looked over each item.  I take specific care to write down each item no matter how small.  Even though the list is long, I am more encouraged with every chore I cross off.  Yes, I cross them off as they are done.  (Insert point and laugh here.)  Water the plants, empty the dishwasher, wrap a gift….check, check and check. 

Maybe I have a little OCD…or maybe I have a lot.  My lists are my little lifesavers.  Calming me from the onslaught of too much to do and never enough time to do it.  I have loads of little notebooks around so I can make a list anywhere, even in purses in case I think of something while I’m out.  

Stop worrying…I recycle!

I love my lists and I don’t care who knows it.  I am addicted to order and organization and my lists are the glue that holds my sanity together.  I don’t care if it’s neurotic!  It’s totally normal! 

You make lists, too!  Right? 

RIGHT?! 

3 thoughts on “So What If I’m Neurotic? It’s Totally Normal!

Leave a Reply

