FTW

The Big Wheel

A lot of people are finding it hard to be happy these days.  With unemployment at an incredulous rate, the economy getting worse by the minute, and disasters occuring all too often, I can see the difficulty.  However, lately, I am finding it hard NOT to be happy.  And I am one of the currently unemployed.  In fact, I don’t think I have been this happy since receiving my Dukes of Hazzard Big Wheel for my fifth birthday. 

Every day, I have found more reasons to love my life.  I have never trusted any person like I trust and love my husband.  My kids, despite the occasional outburst, are amazingly intelligent and wonderful children.  My family is loving and supportive.  We moved into a new home in a neighborhood that I love.  The list goes on and on. 

My point is, no matter what your situation, you can find a way to really appreciate what you do have and magnify it.  Being happy with your life can start a chain reaction of unexpected events.  If you are unhappy, it’s important to find ways to make the changes to get what you want.  Take every small win as a success.  Did you make an amazing dinner?  Chalk that up as something to appreciate.  Did someone tell you that you look good in that shirt?  Enjoy the compliment. 

So many think it’s just easier to be miserable with so much going on.  But the truth is, your life as a whole is much easier if you can be happy with what you have.  Sure, who doesn’t want to hit the big lottery winnings?  What are the chances of that happening?  Anyone can be depressed about what they don’t have, but wouldn’t it feel better just to take a small win and celebrate that for a minute?

One thought on “FTW

Leave a Reply

