Give Your Guy a Break

One night, long ago, my boyfriend and I were getting ready to go out.  I spent quite a bit of time picking out the right outfit.  Took my time putting on the perfect make-up to compliment the clothes.  Then I worked on straightening my hair which takes at least 30 minutes.  This was a long awaited date and I wanted to get my look just right.

Seeing as he only takes five minutes to get ready to go anywhere, he was becoming impatient with me.  He paced up and down the stairs. 

“How much longer?” he would ask. 

“Just a few more minutes,” I would reply.

We did this several times until he came up the stairs and to the doorway to say he had been ready to go and we were going to be late. 

“Who would you like to go out with tonight?”  I snapped.  “The pretty girlfriend, or the ugly one?”

As he turned, I heard him mutter with exasperation, “Well, the ugly one is nicer.”

10 thoughts on “Give Your Guy a Break

  1. That is a killer line. Quips like that put fizz in the lemonade. I’m constantly hopping around like the White Rabbit in Alice in Wonderland tapping his watch fob waiting for my girlfriend to get down the stairs – she says ‘accessorize’, and I say ‘obsess-orize’.

  2. Thanks so much for this. I’m a blogger coming from Ferrara Di Monte Baldo, Italia and what you’ve said here
    on wordpress.com couldn’t be written much better. Reading through this post kinda reminds me of my past roommate, Janessa. He always kept preaching about this. I will definitely send this material to him. Pretty sure he will have a very good read. I appreciate you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

